Repost: Extreme Beauty Tips for Hunter Jumpers

Reposted from August 2007
Hunter-Jumper
I am presently on horseback in the middle of Mongolia at the time of this publishing. I’ll be back September 2nd*
I love riding horses! I have been riding since I was about 4 years old. I grew up around them most of my life; riding is probably one of the most relaxing things that I can do. Just being around horses is a wonderful experience for me.

The effects of riding, however, are largely dependent upon where you do it, and what time of day you choose to ride. The mornings are far less harsh in general but for many of us, morning rides aren’t always possible. Many of us ride as much as we can for the weekend to make up for the lack of riding during the week. This means, broad daylight, under the heart of the sun. The UV exposure can be really harsh! In fact, some of my worse sunburns have been while horseback riding. The dustiness and perspiration are also issues. I will go over some problems I seem to face while riding. It seems to be worse when I trail ride because I am on horseback for so much longer.

•Stay Hydrated: You actually exert a lot of energy and perspire more than you think you do when horseback riding. Even if you are simply trail riding you will still perspire quite a bit more than you think you will. When you throw riding around in two-point in the sun, or posting a lot and jumping rail after rail into the mix, you will lose a lot of fluid. Heat exhaustion is a risk, and trust me I have almost gotten myself into trouble.

•Sunscreen: This should go without saying. Use your head. Even if you ride in the early morning, or in the winter, you will get UV exposure. I get most of my sun exposure while horseback riding. Anthelios is what I use and I highly recommend it. Reapply often!

•Lip Balm: Protect your smackers! I prefer the Vaseline Lip Therapy line, or Noni lip balm but anything will work. Make sure it has at least a SPF 15 sunscreen! Keep it in your pocket because you should reapply often. Lip cancer is often seen in men, but women can get it, too.

•Make-up: I usually put make-up on to ride and I don’t care what anyone thinks. It is great to help block UV light and as some of you may know I am plagued by hyperpigmentations if I am not careful. I use a liquid foundation and some Bare Escentuals mineral powder on top of that. I do apply brow pencil, mascara, and eyeliner and don’t care what anyone thinks. If I were some naturally beautiful 18 year old with perfect, glowing skin I wouldn’t care. But, I’m not.

•Hair: Thankfully horses can’t run too fast. Although, if they could go 100 MPH that would be very cool. My point being, your hair won’t get too tangled if you leave it in a low pony tail. I don’t braid my hair when I ride, but if you are concerned, go for it. I do, however, suggest you apply something like PHYTO PLAGE Protective Sun Veil to ward off the environmental baddies like the sun’s effects.

•Nails: I personally can ride with long nails—as long as they’ve recently been filled. But, do what you want. You know your own limits.

•Miscellaneous Apparel: Gloves are a necessity. Blisters and hangnails are painful and unsightly. You will ruin your hands. Always wear a helmet! As you know, I am a huge proponent of helmets in motorcycle riding; I am with horseback riding as well. I have taken a fall or two right on my head before. The one time I did not wear one and fell, I scraped up the side of my face. You may choose to wear soft kneepads as well. I personally do not, but I should. I have put a hole in my breeches a few times and re-scarred the same knee twice.

At The End Of The Day
With absolutely no doubt in my mind, you will feel like showering post-ride. Wash your hair and apply a really good conditioner and don’t forget to apply a good lotion like Aveeno Moisturizing Lotion.

Shoulders back, heels down, and be easy on the bit!

Next Week: Extreme Golf 😉

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑