Hey, if I can get out of bed these days without something hurting, I'm good.

Archive for May 18, 2017

OH, And New Parts For The CBR!

chorse

I received a new pillion seat (yes, I said that!), new bolt kit, a new set of headlights (yes, headlights!) and I have the brand new satin black bodywork.  I have new mirrors and a light kit coming for it, too.

newtoys

What blasphemy is this you ask?  Am I giving it up and the C Horse is going back to street?  I am still on the fence about actually going for it.  Shawn and Ali are trying to talk me into a track day at T Hill.  Hmmm.. *think think think think*

XX


Hi, My name is Marianne…and I am a bikeaholic.

00909_efX2MdpowKL_600x450

Shawn bought me a YZ250F for my birthday!  And now I have 6 motorcycles.  I think I have issues.  Well, I know I have issues, but I think I specifically have motorcycle issues on top of said pre-existing issues.  It has the suspension done by Fox and the motor (both top and bottom) are freshly done. We located a Dunlop 90/90×21 front at Faultline in Hollister and a Dunlop 100/90×19 rear at Cycle Gear in Gilroy.  Also have a new front sprocket.  Hopefully they have some good folding levers for it as well because I feel that is a necessity.

00T0T_j13u4NNEhsa_600x450

I know, I know.  I need to get rid of one to make up for the new addition.  But I am not ready to get rid of the CRF150RB.  I am not.  I am similar to a cat in that I don’t like change but I need to go to a 250.   He knew I would not sell a bike and go out from scratch and buy a 250 and throw myself into the deep end.  When I say deep end, I mean I whine a lot until I get used to something.  Then I love it and remark about how *I should have done this a long time ago!*   Well, usually.

This weekend is my customary birthday dirtbike camping trip–I am even taking a vacation day to extend the weekend!  Me! A. DAY. OFF.  So we are taking both of my dirtbikes so I can switch back and forth and ease into it and not feel so “traumatized”.   *I don’t like it. It isn’t like my CRF, my CRF has more hit, this thing is slow, this thing has short gears, it is heavy.  I can’t kick it over, will you kick it for me?  The struggle is real.   Waaaahh*   Which will make for an interesting, long weekend.  He certainly must love me, haha.

SacMile-2017-Logo@0.5x-300x188I went back and forth with “are we going camping, or are we slumming it at a Motel 6?” We wanted to go to the Sacramento Mile flatrack race on Saturday night and didn’t want to be all grimy going into public (and the drive out of Mendocino forest is looong and bumpy).  Sadly we just decided that we are not going as we do not want to leave our stuff unguarded in Mendocino, nor pack it all up, to go to a race and drive all the way back at night into the forest.

Dragging all the gear out for one or two days is a bit much.   Yeah, more “struggle”.   I am getting old.  I used to just grab an MRE or some energy bars, water and throw it in my pack and go for it.  I am absolutely lying right now.  I can’t go anywhere without being overly prepared.  I must have a plan and a destination or I get mild anxiety.  If I don’t have a flashlight, a back-up flashlight, usually a back up lightstick, at least two knives, paracord, CO2 canisters, patch kit, food, water, clotting granules, first aid, firestarter, back-up firestarter, emergency blanket, compass, maps, etc. etc. I stay within 10 miles of camp.  Because we may get lost, freeze to death, have to cut off one of our own arms, be forced to drink our own urine,  be eaten by bears and subsequently die.  I warned you of my issues at the beginning of this entry.

So!  Off we go into the forest to “rough it” with French Press coffee, fresh eggs from the chickens, and biscuits baked in my dutch oven.  And wine for night time.  Do not forget the wine.   Trying times, I know.

XX