Parts, parts, parts.

Warning:  I am rambling a stream of consciousness in this entry…

YZapart

It’s like opening Pandora’s box.   Shawn had to clean up the steering head bearings and race, polish out the indents, and repack because they were rusty, but not shot.  Not the best pic as you can’t really see (or feel) what it was before. But it is pretty smooth now.  He used a combo of synth oil, bearing grease and anti-seize in the end.

YZsteeringheadafter

The front wheel bearings are shot, hub is fine.  So at lunch we are going to pick those up today from the bearing store.

I need ONE spoke, damn it.  ONE.  They don’t sell them in singles.  This isn’t like a low-end corner liquor store that will sell you a single cigarette.  But whatever, it will be fine for the weekend.

YZnewchoos

Pic of zee new choos.  

Last night he pinched a tube, Aiiiggh so we have to go get a new one today.  We have to get the correct size anyway so this worked out for the best.  The original owner had a 120 tube stuffed in a 110 tire and we are switching to a 100 tire, so it was bound to happen.  BTW these wheels are enormous compared to my lil Champion Machine (not pictured for scale).    When we picked them up from Faultline I thought, WOOOOO!! I CAN RUN OVER EVERYTHING NOW!!!

The hotstart was not closing all the way because the  perch wasn’t compatible.  How that is possible is beyond me but it was hanging up.  It was fixed with a little grinding.  Not sure if it was really making a difference and how much play there is when it is not closed all the way.  But it closes now, so A+.

I wanted to replace the levers but the AGV pivot levers are above my paygrade, I can’t seem to get the Zetasnonamepinotlevers for this bike without serious hassle and shipping, and the no-name pivots were cheaper, so I went with that option.  They don’t come in until Monday though : (   If they break, I will just switch to Zetas because they have lasted through countless crashes on the CRF in 4 years and they are still perfectly fine.

Oh, and I need front brake pads, they are both pretty much slivers, so there’s more money up in smoke.  I am getting some semi-metallic Galfer pads from CG at lunch along with the new tube (they were out of full metallic).  Which is fine; don’t jam on the front anyway in late season because there is pretty much no grip on the ground.  Really, I could go with organics if I had to and be perfectly fine. It’s not like I am some Pro or doing stoppies.  Those pads will last me eons.

I also need to find a new titanium sleeve for my pipe.  There’s a hole in mine.

There are a few other things which need to be replaced but they are not necessary for trip.

Oh and Shawn has to change his clutch in his 450R tonight before we leave in the morning.  And pack the camping gear.  And go buy wood,  And manage to get some sleep.

 

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

